top of page

Back and Racing!

I'm thrilled to be back home and have enjoyed catching up with friends, family, and pets.

In my last week I enjoyed a brilliant few days travelling at Lake Naivasha. I ran up a mountain called Longonot (check out the elevation on my Strava!) and even went on a cycling safari through Hell's Gate National Park which was an unbelievable thrill to be so close to such beautiful animals.

I've also had time to reflect on my trip and, despite enjoying a few creature comforts (chocolate!), it's really got me thinking about what I actually need to be a happy and successful runner.

Naturally a lot of people want to know what it was like in Kenya and specifically Iten. I don't think it's a particularly poor area as the moderate climate enables good growing conditions but it's clear that people don't have many material things. This doesn't have a negative impact on lifestyle - probably for two reasons that I observed. Firstly I have never met such positive people (in running and life) who generally believe anything is possible and if they're not world champion this year it's going to be next year! Secondly, though money is obviously important, the trappings that come with it don't seem to be. I heard plenty of stories of world champions living very simple lifestyles.

This positive mindset is one of the things that I'm hoping will rub off. My motivation for running has often fluctuated, but after returning it has just been sky high. I have more serious races booked in but I was pleased to see that my speed has improved with a 14:57 clocking at Penrose Parkrun on Saturday. It was really nice, after the run, to pop in to At Your Pace running shop. They had great advice for my next shoe - I don't think my 6 year old flats will take another marathon!

Next is An Resek 10 miler then soon after, the National Road Relays in April. For anyone who doesn't know about this event, it is MASSIVE on the road running calendar in England and I'm hoping Bristol can improve on the 3rd place from last year.

I'd like to take this chance to say a huge thank you to the people who helped fund my trip - I was completely blown away by the support.

I'm going to do what I can to make the whole exercise worthwhile.

Please take a look at the DEC emergency appeal for East African Crisis Appeal. The situation over there is dreadful and I'm going to do what I can to raise awareness- they really are worth donating to and the government is match funding all donations

bottom of page