top of page

New York, New York!


New York, New York Start spreading the news You're leaving today (tell him friend) I want to be a part of it, New York, New York Your vagabond shoes, they are longing to stray And steps around the heart of it, New York, New York

(Frank Sinatra)

I don't think Frank Sinatra was singing about the New York Marathon, but there's nice imagery surrounding my 'vagabond shoes' traipsing around the streets of this iconic city and, as the world's biggest marathon, the line 'I want to be a part of it', is pretty apt for how I feel about this race.

Sunday 5th November is getting close, scarily so. I couldn't be more excited to be running, but now is the time for the nagging doubts - did I put the miles in? Trying to recall the tough sessions that I made it through can help to bring comfort in this situation. The season has been busy at work and I always knew that an autumn marathon would be a tall ask but I'm not a big fan of excuses. I'd much rather focus on what I have done rather what I haven't

The last few sessions have been really good. Winning the Eden Project half marathon for a third year shows some good form and I have managed to build on that in the last couple of weeks. I've had some nice messages of support and I'm grateful, as always, to AtYourPace running shop in Helston for continued help with my kit requirements.

In terms of ambition for this race, I'd be up for a pb, but who knows? It might just allude me given it's slightly slower reputation than London. I'm just pleased to be fit and healthy and be afforded this amazing experience.

I'll update you on how I get on!

bottom of page